The St. Petersburg Hutchins Violin Octet

The New Violin Family

Performing on instruments designed and
hand-crafted by Dr. Carleen M. Hutchins


Founded in 1994, the St. Petersburg Hutchins Violin Octet is composed of prominent and renowned Russian musicians (professors of the St. Petersburg Conservatory of Music, international contest laureates, members of the distinguished Taneyev Quartet and soloists of the St. Petersburg Philharmonic. The concerts and recitals by the full Octet as well as solo performances by Octet members have created an artistic stir in a city not easily surprised by musical events.

Item Number:
St. Petersburg Hutchins Violin Octet CD


Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)
Concerto in D Major, op. 10, No. 3
1. Allegro
2. Cantabile
3. Allegro

Piotr Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Excerpts from the "Children's Album,"
op. 39
4. Morning Prayer
5. A Winter Morn
6. Sweet Reverie
7. Little Horseman
8. The Toy Soldier's March
9. Waltz
10. Polka
11. Popular Song
12. Russian Song
13. Rustic Song
14. The Witch
15. Old French Song
16. Little Italian Song
17. Neapolitan Song
18. Nursery Tale
19. The Organ Grinder's Song

20. In the Church

Yuri Falik (b. 1936)
"An English Divertimento" (1978)
21. Allegro-Andante con moto-Allegro moderato

Gennady Belov (b. 1939)
22. concertino in the form of theme and variations

Lawrence Rackley (b. 1932)
23. Handel: Variations

Gordon Jacob (1895-1984)
24. Brevity is the Soul of Wit
25. Sour Grapes
26. Evil Weeds Grow Apace
27. When the Devil was Sick
28. Still Waters Run Deep
29. When the Cat's Away
30. Dog in the Manger

If you would like to purchase this selection using a check or money order,
please click [Here] to download an order form (.pdf).